Honors and Awards

    Fellow, IEEE, 1990

    Fellow, Optical Society of America, 1996

    Outstanding Service Award, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, 2000

    IEEE Third Millennium Medal, 2000

    Fellow, Electromagnetics Academy, 2002

    Distinguished Achievement Award, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensng Society, 2008

    Honorary Professor, Department of Electronic Engineering, City University of Hong Kong, 2004-2016

    Adjunct Professor, Electromagnetics Academy, Zhejiang University, 2004-2009

    "Fiorino Oro" (Golden Florin) Award, CeTeM (Center for Microwave Remote Sensing), Italy, 2010

    William T Pecora Award (co-sponsored by Department of Interior USGS and NASA), 2012

    “For his sustained contributions to the theory of microwave remote sensing”

    Member of Washington State Academy of Science, 2012

    NASA Group Achievement Award: SMAPVEX12 Campaign, 2012

    IEEE Electromagnetics Award , 2013

    “For contributions to statistical electromagnetic theory and applications in remote sensing of complex geophysical environment”

    Van De Hulst Light Scattering Award (Elsevier), 2018

    “For life-time achievement of landmark original contributions to the research field of electromagnetic scattering and its applications”

    Honorary Life Member of IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, 2018

    Member, National Academy of Engineering, 2020

    “For contributions in wave scattering and microwave remote sensing theories for satellite missions.”