Andrew E. Yagle (M'85) was born in Ann Arbor, MI in 1956. He received the B.S.E. and B.S.E.E. degrees from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1977 and 1978, respectively, and the S.M., E.E., and Ph.D. degrees from M.I.T, Cambridge, MA, in 1981, 1982, and 1985, respectively.

While at M.I.T. he received an Exxon Teaching Fellowship from 1982 to 1985. Since September 1985 he has been with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science of the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, where he is currently a Professor. He received the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1988 and the ONR Young Investigator Award in 1990. He received H.H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies Research Partnership Awards with Tin-Su Pan in 1990, and with K.R. Raghavan in 1993. He has received several teaching awards, including the College of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award in 1992, the Eta Kappa Nu Professor of the Year Award in 1990, and the Class of 1938e Distinguished Service Award in 1989.

He is a past member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society Board of Governors, the Image and Multidimensional Signal Processing Technical Committee, the Digital Signal Processing Technical Committee, and the Signal Processing Theory and Methods Technical Committee. He is a past associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, the IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, IEEE Signal Processing Letters, and Multidimensional Systems and Signal Processing. He was technical program co-chair of ICASSP-95, held in Detroit MI.

His research interests include blind deconvolution, multidimensional inverse scattering theory, fast algorithms for digital signal processing, multiresolution and iterative algorithms in medical imaging, and phase retrieval.