Jessy Grizzle

Elmer G. Gilbert Distinguished University Professor
Jerry W. and Carol L. Levin Professor of Engineering

Jessy Grizzle

Elmer G. Gilbert Distinguished University Professor
Jerry W. and Carol L. Levin Professor of Engineering

Jessy Grizzle

Jessy W. Grizzle

Elmer G. Gilbert Distinguished University Professor
Jerry W. and Carol L. Levin Professor of Engineering
Director of Robotics

University of Michigan
EECS Department
Electrical & Computer Engineering
1301 Beal Ave. (3215 EECS Bldg.)
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Tel: (734) 763-3598
Fax: (734) 763-8041
Email:

Doctoral Students Supervising Currently

  1. Xingye (Dennis) Da, ``Optimization and Suprvised Machine Learning with Applications to MARLO," xda@umich.edu
  2. Ross Hartley, ``Robot Vision for Legged Locomotion: Cassie Blue," rosshart@umich.edu
  3. Omar Harib, ``Legged Locomotion: Exoskeletons for Paraplegics," oharib@umich.edu
  4. Yuxiao Chen, ``Correct-by-Design Control Software Synthesis for Highly Dynamic Systems," chenyx@umich.edu [Co-advised with Huei Peng]
  5. Oguz Dagci, ``Hybrid Electric Powertrain Architectures with Multiple Planetary Gearsets," oguzhada@umich.edu [Co-advised with Huei Peng]
  6. Yukai Gong, ``Legged Locomotion: Cassie (Go) Blue," ykgong@umich.edu
  7. Eva Mungai, ``Legged Locomotion: Exoskeletons for Paraplegics," mungam@umich.edu

Post-Docs

  1. Ayonga Hereid, ``Fast Optimization and Asymptotically Stable Gait Design for Bipedal Robots and Exoskeletons," January 2017 through present.
  2. Xiangru Xu, ``Correct-by-Design Control Software Synthesis for Highly Dynamic Systems," July 2014 through July 2017.
  3. Kaveh Akbari Hamed, ``Nonlinear control and bipedal locomotion," January 2012 through August 2014 (now Asst. Prof. at San Diego State University). See also hisGoogle Scholar site.
  4. Kevin Galloway, ``Nonlinear control and bipedal locomotion," September 2011 through June 2013. (Now an Asst. Prof. at the Naval Academy). See also his Google Scholar site.

Doctoral Students Graduated as Primary Advisor

  1. Sun-Tae Chung, ``Digital Aspects of Nonlinear Synthesis Problems,'' 1990, cst@ssu.ac.kr [Photo~1995]
  2. Yongkyu Song, ``Estimation and Control in Discrete-time Nonlinear Systems,'' 1992 yksong@hau.ac.kr
  3. Kenneth Butts, ``Issues in the Implementation of Automotive Control Systems,'' 1993 [Co-advisor: James S. Freudenberg ,] Kbutts@ttc-usa.com
  4. Paul Moraal, ``Nonlinear Observer Design: Theory and Applications to Automotive Control,'' 1994 pmoraal@ford.com
  5. Anna Stefanopoulou , ``Modeling and Control of Advanced Technology Engines,'' 1996 [Co-advisor: James S. Freudenberg ,] annastef@umich.edu
  6. Peter Hanish, ``Phenomenological Modeling of Reactive Ion Etching for Real-time Feedback Control,''1996 p-hanish@ti.com
  7. Courtney Hanish, `` Modeling and Automation of an Electron Cyclotron Resonance Source Etcher Using a Chlorine/Argon Plasma,'' 1996 chanish@adventact.com
  8. Manish Chandhok, ``Phenomenological Modeling of Plasma Generation for the Real-time Control of RIE Systems,'' 1996 chandhok@ptdcs2.ra.intel.com
  9. Erich Brandt, ``Modeling and Diagnostics of Three-Way Catalysts for Advanced Emissions Control Systems,'' 1998, g15244@email.mot.com
  10. Craig Garvin, ``Radio Frequency Based Sensors for Diagnostics and Control of Plasma-Assisted Mirco Manufacturing,'' 2000 Craig.Garvin@inficon.com
  11. Jun-Mo Kang, ``Advanced Control for Fuel Economy and Emissions Improvement in Spark Ignition Engines, 2000 jun-mo.kang@gm.com
  12. Hyun-Mog Park, ``Real-Time Feedback Control and Fault Detection in Deep-Submicron Plasma Etch,'' 2000 hyunmog.park@samsung.com
  13. Eric Westervelt ``Toward a Coherent Framework for the Control of Planar Biped Locomotion,'' June 13, 2003 [Co-advisor:Daniel Koditschek, westervelt.4@gmail.com
  14. Junho Choi ``Model-based Control and Analysis of Anthropomorphic Walking,'' 2005, junhochoi@kist.re.kr
  15. Edward Dean Tate, Jr., ``Techniques for Hybrid Electric Vehicle Controller Synthesis'' 2006 [Co-advisor: Huei Penged.d.tate@gm.com
  16. Ben Morris ``Stabilizing Highly Dynamic Locomotion in Planar Bipedal Robots with Dimension Reducing Control,'' 2007, benjamin.james.morris@gmail.com
  17. Ioannis Poulakakis , ``Stabilizing Monopedal Robot Running: Reduction-by-Feedback and Compliant Hybrid Zero Dynamics," 2008, poulakas@umich.edu
  18. Daniel F. Opila , ``Incorporating Drivability Metrics into Optimal Energy Management Strategies for Hybrid Vehicles," 2010, [Co-advisor: Brent Gillespie]dopila@umich.edu
  19. Koushil Sreenath , ``Feedback Control of a Bipedal Walker and Runner with Compliance," 2011, koushils@umich.edu
  20. Hae Won Park , ``Control of a Bipedal Robot Walker on Rough Terrain," 2012, parkhw@umich.edu
  21. Alireza Ramezani , ``Feedback Control Design for MARLO, a 3D-Bipedal Robot," 2013 aramez@umich.edu
  22. Brian G Buss , ``Systematic Controller Design for Dynamic 3D Bipedal Robot Walking," 2015, briangbuss@gmail.com,
  23. Brent Griffin, ``Nonholonomic Virtual Constraints and Gait Optimization for Robust Robot Walking Control," 2016 bagriffin@gmail.com

Doctoral Students Graduated as Co-Advisor

  1. Giovanni (Gian Piero) Fiengo, ``Emissions Control for the Spark Ignition Internal Combustion Engine Equipped with Three-Way Catalytic Converter,'' 2001 [Primary advisor: Luigi Glielmo ; thesis completed at Universita degil Studi di Napoli Federico II] gifiengo@unina.it
  2. Joseph J. Scillieri, ``Limitations and Improvements in the Idle Speed Control of a Direct Injection Spark Ignition Engine," 2002 [Primary advisor: James S. Freudenberg ,]
  3. Chan-Chiao (Joe) Lin, ``Modeling and Control Strategy Development for Hybrid Vehicles," 2004 [Primary advisor: Huei Pengchancl@engin.umich.edu
  4. Berk Atlin, ``Relaxing Fundamental Assumptions in Iterative Learning Control,'' 2016 [Primary advisor: Kira Baron]
  5. Hamed Razavi, ``Symmetry Method for Limit Cycle Walking of Legged Robots,'' 2016, razavi@umich.edu [Anthony Bloch was the primary advisor, with significant input from Christine Chevallereau and J. Grizzle]
  6. Petter Nilsson, ``Correct-by-Construction Control Software Synthesis for High-Dimensional Systems," pettni@umich.edu [Primary Advisor: Necmiye Ozay]

MS Students

  1. Deepak Aswani, ``Automotive Control," 2003, daswani@ford.com
  2. Theo Van Dam , ``Legged Locomotion," 2007, vtheo@umich.edu